Veterans Day 2015


Honoring those that have served!
World War II
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Audie_Murphy

Young men considered as boys during World War II some knew what they were getting into, some joined just to have a place to sleep and their bellies full, some joined because adventure called their name, then those that needed to provide for their families during those harsh economic times. Those in recent wars like the Persian Gulf who were ordered by the court to join or else!

To those that have bled dearly, lost of limb and or life, made sacrifices that most of us can only fathom the hidden raw emotions while showing acts of true bravery protecting us and your brothers in arms.

I salute you!

Navy world war II

Anthony Garcia, one of my Dad’s friends growing up in Colusa California. Killed in Action September 28 in France, age 23.

The article does not mention what really happened. Anthony had a letter from home, and while he was knee deep and bunkered down, the sound of war everywhere piercing all ears, he took out the letter and read it, probably to bring him some comfort and while he was reading the letter a bullet hit him in the head.

 

Dads Freind 1

 

Another one of my Dad’s friends. I can’t make out the last name, but his first name is Tony.

 

navy World War II

My Dad, Antonio Jesus Rios born in Farmersville, Texas to grandparents who immigrated from Mexico.

Served on the USS Petrof and the USS General J. C. Breckinridge. While stuck in the rice patties fighting the Japenese enemy, Dad encountered a hand to hand combat. He told me that was the day he should have been World war II 1945dead, instead the enemy butted him in the jaw with his rifle leaving my Dad knock out cold against some type of tree,  that’s how he became a proud owner of false dentures. When my dad went back to get his Navy Album from his Mother, all of his medals were gone, the purple heart among others, all gone, even some of his personal photos. I often wonder if my Dad might have met Audie Murphy, becuase they came from the same area of Texas.

Others that have served.

Brother Paul Anthony Rios. Marine Corp.

Brother Roy on the USS Enterpise, Electical Enginerree

Cusin Bob, USAF

Uncle Joe Reza, Infintry United Staes Army WWII

1st Cusin Clyde Loreto, USAF

MarinesUncle Dannis Bradford, my Mothers biological brother who served in the Korean war. Back then it was a crime letting sexual preference known so he is one that hid in the closets, perhaps that is why he tread some of his sisters with anger.

 

 

World War I

World War I

Albert Bradofrd, my maternal grandfather, served in the first World War, United States Army PVT.

Born in 1879, in 1914 he was 35 years of age when it broke out.

 

 

Persian Gulf WarMy best firend and only true frined, Troy Haywood served in the Persian Gulf War. I think most of remember this one. Cnn and other media coverage was 24/7 non’stop.

When Troy got back, we had a beer togather at a local bar, he informed that most lifes were lost due to friendly fire.. I am very greatful he was not one of the fatalities.

 

7 thoughts on “Veterans Day 2015”

  1. In a way, I feel guilty for not ever serving myself. Both grandfathers were in WWII, my dad and father-in-law both in Vietnam, and my brother-in-law currently in the Seabees. All should be thanked for their sacrifices.

    Like

Leave a Reply

