Self Hosted Sites | Stumble Me This -Stumble Me That


 

 

 

 

This is for Self-Hosted sites Only!

Before we get our hands dirty, Self-hosted sites can be intimidating especially when having to enter a piece of code to make certain wonders work.

I searched hi and low for this one. I read in WorPress forums where and Engineer commented that they decided to eliminate the access to StumbleUpon Sharing button due to that many WorPress users are using and or have been converted to the Https URL format from Http. You can read for yourself if you like. here: https://en.forums.wordpress.com/topic/stumbleupon-sharing-button-disappeared?replies=21

pixabay.com
pixabay.com

First some facts, did you know that Ebay owned StumbleUpon at one time. I just found that this minute.

StumbleUpon was owned by eBay from May 2007, when it was acquired for $75 million until April 2009, when Garrett Camp, Geoff Smith and several investors bought it back. StumbleUpon is now an independent, investor-backed startup once again, with offices in San Francisco and New York City.

On to the links to hopefully provide a cure.

How to Add a StumbleUpon Button

Since I am techy person details are the name of the game like real journalist used to be at one time.

Before you rush to the checkout line:  Take a moment and read some of these warnings.

StumbleUpon badge is not loading on site. Unable to post message to http://www.stumbleupon.com. Recipient has origin — error

Why does StumbleUpon redirect from HTTPS to HTTP when I submit a stumble using Chrome?

I hope everyone has a nice day!

 

 

 

9 thoughts on “Self Hosted Sites | Stumble Me This -Stumble Me That”

  1. I should look into this. My main blog site is self-hosted and it’s such a lot of work trying to get people to notice it. I keep coming across blogs that have twenty or fifty or a hundred more times the number of followers I have and for the life of me I can’t work out what I’m doing wrong. I could really do with all the help I can get.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. That’s right. I also started a WordPress.com site at https://bunkaryudo.wordpress.com/ with some of the same material to see if that would help. I have gradually been getting followers, but it has been so slow and painful.

        I must admit I feel I’m doing something terribly wrong. I try to interact with others bloggers and also to write posts of reasonable quality (which near kills me twice a week), but I’ve lost count of the number of times I’ve discovered a new blog with 20 followers, gone back a couple of weeks later and discovered it suddenly has 500. Sometimes, the content of the blog justifies it — there are some amazingly good blogs out there — but other times, not so much.

        I’ve been trying to think things through logically and rationally. After much detailed analysis and the use charts, tables and complex equations, I’ve arrived at the scientific conclusion that I really suck at blogging.

        Liked by 1 person

        1. I have to agree with you on that some with somewhat rubbage content do indeed gain a large following for some unknown variable that defies logic. I do have a theory but just a theory. I am currently writing another post that I will set to a timer. I have a meeting at 1 PM today, ​I will look at both your blogs once I get back.

          Liked by 1 person

          1. Thanks, Michael. (Incidentally, I’ve never used the timer before. I guess I’m a bit scared of them since their main function in my life up to now has been to help me incinerate things in my oven.)

            Like

Leave a Reply

