Crockpot Chicken


Deb Found this recipe Via Facebook and she really wanted to try it.

With recent news of her car shaking hands with Mr. Reaper, I thought I would just go ahead and make it. I will admit that when I read anything that says to use vinegar in food my nose cringes.  It just does, but this one was good to my surprise and is why I am posting it. I did manage to find the original creator of said dish.

Let’s do it:

Sweet Baby Ray’s Crockpot Chicken

Ingredients
4 -6 chicken breasts
1 (18 ounce) bottles barbecue sauce ( Sweet Baby Rays)
1/4 cup vinegar ( I used Heinz Apple Cider Vinegar)
1 teaspoon red pepper flakes
1/4 cup brown sugar
1 teaspoon garlic powder

Directions
Mix everything but chicken.
Place chicken in crockpot (frozen is ok).
Pour sauce mixture over chicken.
Cook on low 4-6 hours.
Broil if desired.

IMG_20150922_200531976I used one large chicken breast to split between the both of us. I followed the directions to a T, except to reduce the red pepper flakes since I was only using one breast.  the red pepper flakes is what adds that kick waking up the taste buds. If you prefer a mild kick in the pants, then use only a small pinch of the red pepper flakes.

Note: With one breast, I would reduce the time to 3 to 4 hours instead of the full 6 hours.

12 thoughts on “Crockpot Chicken”

Leave a Reply

