My Ancestory Video Submission


Most everyone here know that Genealogy is one of my hobbies and passions of finding lost relatives. Ancestry was having a contest and the winner would be selected from a vast pool of submissions. I thought here is my chance for my 15 minutes of fame and glory -so I thought.

I was excited and nervous at the same time. I was like Ralphie from A Christmas Story fantasizing of that Red Ryder BB rifle. I gathered material I would need, wrote a rough draft, made sure equipment worked and proceeded to shoot my video submission that I thought would lead to certain destiny calling me. I took three videos and edited the best one that I was sure to bring me the Oscar or at least nominations. I carefully selected still images for branding, employing key animations thinking to myself this would be the icing on the cake.  Once I was sure with my delusions, I enter their site, I found the link to add my video that would lead to stardom waiting. All big eyed dreaming, salivating and fantasizing of glory to come, I caressed the mouse with deep breaths and clicked the button to upload a masterpiece -so I thought.

I waited patiently for any type of communication, one if by email, two if by phone, three if by Facebook, but no words, no communication came, and that was that. The dream crushed and grinded like refined chopped nuts, spirits shattered and shared to the delusions of grandeur in the moment.

3 thoughts on “My Ancestory Video Submission”

  1. Well…we like you! I guess this is an aside, but your blog always makes me think about how much easier sites like Ancestry.com have made our research. My father was adopted in the late 40’s/early 50’s, and of course it was a closed adoption. He set out to find his birth parents when I was a kid (80’s) and it took a few years, plus it was very expensive. Just a thought that was running through my mind. ☺️

    Like

    1. It is good to be liked! 🙂
      Those closed adoption records are nearly impossible to breech even with a Private investigator at times. I am glad that you guys made progress though.

      Like

Leave a Reply

