Inspirational, motivate

Get Your Hands Dirty!


Before Nike came up with their slogan 26 years ago, our dad being a Navy vet always told us to just do it when we had doubts in ourselves. I wished he would have coined that phrase!

I have seen and read quite a few posting on positive thoughts and posts on believing in yourself. At times our greatest challenges in life are conquering our fears and demons. We are afraid of rejection and how it makes us feel, afraid to put ourselves on the stage with the spotlight shinning on us. We may learn some new skills from Hard School Knocks or institution but we don’t use them because the fear or shyness surfaces up. Maybe we do use them behind closed doors Rocky-Balboa-Quotes-Go-For-Itso that no one will make fun of us. I am an advocate of Moving Forward and one of the most important quotes you will ever hear or read is from Rocky Balboa last fight movie in 2006. This one inspirational quote says it all.

Never give up on yourself because when you turn the negative encouragement  or words and turn them into positive enlightenment for yourself, there is no telling what you might accomplish.

I will put myself on this stage, and when you see some of the photos, -I am not Gay! Yes, I sew and quite well infact.

Vest, Dragons, Dragon vest, sewing
Asian jacket made of suede and Brocade, Vest made of Brocade and black silk, I made one for my son too. Think I need to lose 10 Lbs.
Quilting
Took one month to make this!

VisualBasic MathIn life we may come across those that say we can’t do something, You can’t do this or that, you don’t even know how to do it. But. me being me, I always liked proving them wrong. If you don’t know how to do something, then learn.

WebDesignWhat if you wanted to try and build your own Website from the ground up. Take a chance and just do it. You might amaze yourself. You have to take risks that get us out of our comfort zone!

Maybe you want to be able to draft you new home or you have an idea for new mechanical part that could change the world. I say, Get your hands dirty.

DrawingWhat about drawing, take the plunge and doodle, there is no one looking at you or judging you. The only one judging you is you!

Most know I have Complex Regional Syndrome which affects the nerves with shooting pain but do I let that stop me. No!

I love the piano and although I may never be able to play the piano like I once did or my guitar, with technology and software you can find an alternate platform to be creative. I recently found a virtual piano for the PC, will take me time to learn how to use it correctly but you have to try and press forward.

 

 

19 thoughts on “Get Your Hands Dirty!”

  1. Hi Michael! I saw this via the Dream Big, Dream Often blog, and then it led me to your page. I enjoyed reading the full article, including your photos of your sewing accomplishment and your drawing. Your message is one that applies to, I would think, just about everyone. You expressed it well, and really, one should just DO IT. Regardless of negative comments or challenges in our path. Keep plugging away at it, and key is, enjoy the process, because that helps us particularly in those times when we stumble as well as keeping our momentum going, when things are going well. 🙂 For myself, I have tried some new things at my age that seemed to be outside of the comfort zone, and that has been a tremendous boost personally, but I still find that occasionally I find some old fears popping up, and your message reminds me that I should work on just DOING those. Thank you! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hello Michaela! Yes you got it, “keep plugging away at it”. Those old fears will pop up from time to time, the important thing is to try, maybe not today but tomorrow. I never would have had the skill set if I never tried and applied myself, for instance, I never decorated a cake before, baked them at the restaurants, but at the beginning of this year that is exactly what I did, got some ideas for youtube videos and just did it. There should be a photo of it on one of earlier posts. I am glad you enjoyed reading this article and getting out of your comfort zone can be scary at times but the rewards can pay off even if only for yourself.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. That’s so cool that you decided to give cake decorating a go, Michael. I guess for me sometimes I become hesitant, when something I tried before went sideways, and then doubt can seep in. On the other hand, there are other areas where I plunge in, and it’s been an incredible collection of experiences….like when I decided to take up drumming at 48! Hahaha! Most of the time the rewards are for yourself, I think, since it’s you who is taking those bigger unknown steps. But on occasion, one can be an inspiration to someone else, who has toyed with a similar notion.

        Like

          1. Well, I have had a couple of ladies come up to me and say to me, after watching me on the drums playing with a band, that they felt that since I started later in life, it gave them courage. Out of those who said that to me over the past few years, only one that I know who ACTUALLY started taking drum lessons at the same school that I am part of (with vocal lessons now), and I haven’t seen her ina while, so I don’t know if she kept it up. However, I have, and I still go jamming and enjoying myself. I used to be in three bands, so joining a new one is always something to look forward to as well. 🙂

            Like

    1. Funny thing with this one, I gave it to my brother Roy for Christmas and his wife put it up, she said it was too good to use (at least what was said to my face), Roy then tells me, thaks for the artwork.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks for sharing this, Michael. Made me think of my parents particularly my Mom who always told us there was nothing we couldn’t do. I was thirty before I realized that not trying was an option for some people, it honestly never occurred to me that not trying was an option. I suspect that the person who coined Nike’s Just Do It was raised by similar parents as ours.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. This is so so on point, i don’t think we should get tired of emphasizing this in different ways. You sew beautifully that cloth…woow. Wooooow!! and that painting…did you do that too? i want to try my hands on painting as well, hideous as it may come out…jajaja. Well done being an inspiration to us all. Cheerio Michael.

    Like

    1. With some of the software out there today, makes it less difficult, unless doing the CSS or VB.net programing. At one time Microsoft Word could be used to make a simple Web Page.

      Like

Leave a Reply

