The Three Graces

If you like Greek mythology like I do, then like this little tidbit.

Rebecca Grace

Source: Michael Parks Source: Michael Parks

The three goddesses generally accepted as the Graces represented grace, charm and beauty also had other qualities that they were associated with:

Aglaia represented elegance, brightness and splendor
Thalia represented youth, beauty and good cheer
Euphrosyne represented mirth and or joyfulness

The main role of the Three Graces was to bestow beauty, charm, and goodness on young women and to give joy and the feeling of well being to people in general. Closely associated with the Nine Muses they were also considered patrons of music, poetry and dance.

The three Graces resided above the golden clouds on Mount Olympus where they entertained the Olympian gods and goddesses. They sang and danced to the music of the Muses and Apollo’s lyre. They were also the attendants of the love deities Aphrodite and Eros and formed part of their retinue. In their roles of social hostesses to the Olympians…

View original post 47 more words


2 thoughts on “The Three Graces”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s