Repurpose items laying around.


A gloomy day today and waiting for the ice rain to start. 😦

I believe that I will also put some DIY ideas on my blog here. There is no better way to occupy one’s mind when the weather keeps us inside. Last Easter, I made a cake which was a big hit and also served as home therapy for my left arm and hand after a surgery to repair the Ulnar nerve went south two months after -leaving me with what they call Complex Regional Pain Syndrome.

In the midst of making the roses, I was getting really annoyed that I had no where to put the flower nail to rest while I was working on a different one or just so that it would not get contaminated. My hand kept getting icing and sticky from the residues. I went online to search for a flower nail holder and found that most of the items had to be bought online and the ones that were located in my area were a price I was not willing to cough up. Delima. I took a walk to clear my mind and to think. While I was walking, Flower nail holderI saw this cigarette pack that someone discarded. It looked like a 4″ X 2″ shape, then the lightbulb went off. I grabbed the empty box, cleaned it and grabbed a piece of aluminum foil. I wrapped it then made two holes spaced apart to accommodate my needs. Granted it does not look pretty but it got the job done. I also did not have to shell out $11.00 on ebay and wait for it to get here nor did I have to submit to shelling $16.00 for a Welton brand.

I still use this hand crafted device to this day. It allowed me to work more efficient and smoothly then clumsy trying to find a spot to house the flower nail. The end result well the pic is here.

Easter bunny cake
Easter 2014
One thought on “Repurpose items laying around.”

Leave a Reply

